10 greatest British monarchs in the history

10 greatest Monarchs in the Britain History

Britain has a rich history that involves the rule of great Monarchs, Ladies, and Lords in the medieval era and the present time. The Great Britain has been ruled by English lords and ladies coming from several centuries past. Still Royal family is loved by the people of England. The rule extends to several areas of the World. In the few centuries back, The Great Britain rule extends from Australia at one end and America at the other side of the World.

Several kings ruled the Britain, Wales, Ireland, and other Anglo-Saxon countries for their entire life, leaving the rest of the job to their sons or daughters. Some families ruled for more than 3 centuries or more. The Queen Victoria rule had the longest life span as compared to the other ruling Kings and Queens from the previous centuries and onward. Queen Elizabeth II reigned for about 61 years, the second longest ruling Queen in the history of England.

Alfred the Great

King Alfred

Alfred the Great was the King of Wessex from 871 to 899. He led the Anglo-Saxon resistance against the invading Danes to the Kingdom of Wessex. Many of the English kings fell prey to the Vikings invasion. However, Alfred, son of Æthelwulf, was the only King who successfully defended Wessex against the invading Norman.

Cnut the Great

Cnut the Great was the son of Sweyn Forkbeard, King of Denmark. In 1015, Canute successfully led an invasion of England and conquered against the ruling forces. Due to his victory, he earned the title of Cnut the Great. The war ended in a treaty to let him rule a part of England. After his death, his successors failed to rule the kingdom and the rule of Cnut faded into the pages of the history.

William the Conqueror

William the Conqueror is famous for his victory against the ruling king, Harold Godwinson. He came as a victor of England against Harold and proclaimed the title of William the conqueror in the battle of Hastings. He built many castles and mottes to secure the borders of England. He is also known as the one who built the infamous Tower of England.

Edward I

Edward I or Edward Longshank also known as the “Hammer of the Scots” was the ruler of England, Ireland, and Aquitaine from the year 1272 to 1307. He was called Longshank due to his unusual height and hammer for his brutality and acts of barbarism to people of Scotland. His father Henry III was a weak ruler as compared to him. He used effective measure to establish a strong Scottish rule and making a better place in the ruling council of Scotland.

Henry V

Henry V ruled England and Ireland from 1413 to 1422. During this time, he led a campaign against France in the Hundred Year’s War, nearly conquering the country and signing a treaty that made him heir-apparent to the French throne. Featured in three Shakespearean plays, he is portrayed as a brave leader, crying “Once more unto the breach, dear friends, once more.”

Henry VIII

Henry VIII was the ruler of England is known for marrying several ladies to produce his male heir. He beheaded two of his wives for not providing a male heir to the throne. He also divorced two of his wives. Only one wife succeeded in producing him a male heir and died after the child birth. His sixth wife was the one who lasted longer than the Henry VIII life span.

Elizabeth I

Elizabeth I also known as the “Virgin Queen” was the daughter of Henry VIII who rose to the power at the age of 25. She ruled England and Ireland from the year 1558 to 1603. Her rule is said to be the golden age of art and science in the kingdom of England. She is also known for her victory against the Spanish Armada in the year 1588.

James I

James I was the ruler of Scotland, England, and Ireland from the year 1603 to the year 1625. During his rule, the trade of the British East India Company increased to its greatest extremes. Many educational institutes were built to promote the studies of art, literature, and architecture.


Queen Victoria reign was the largest and longest in Great Britain and Ireland. She ruled the Great Britain from the year 1837 to 1901. After completely occupying East India, she was titled as the Empress of India. During her rule, the Great Britain occupied one quarter of the Earth’s mainland.

Elizabeth II

Elizabeth II ruled England from the year 1952 to the present time, also said to be the second longest lasting rule of England. She maintained her popularity even in the vast social changes and development in technologies, sovereignty, law, and other departments of the England.

Richard I (The Lionheart)

Richard I also known as the Lionheart was the Duke of Normandy, Duke of Aquitaine, Count of Anjou, Count of Maine, and Ruler of the Cyprus. He won considerable crusades against the Muslim lords; however failed to retake Jerusalem from the famous Muslim leader, Saladin. He was title as Lionheart for his bravery, valor, and leadership in the wars against different rulers of his time. John Lackland was the successor of England after the death of Richard I.

Leave a Reply

one + 8 =